Headlines News

Senate okays 12 constitution alteration bills, seeks President’s assent

daily times

…Acknowledges receipt of resolutions on most of the bills from 35 states legislatures
The Senate, on Tuesday, passed into law 12 bills out of the Constitution (Fourth) Alteration Bills, 2018, and resolved to transmit them to President Muhammadu Buhari for his assent

This is to enable institutions of government prepare for immediate implementation of policies and programmes pursuant to the provisions.

While awaiting the resolution of some the State Houses of Assembly on some of the bills forwarded to them by the National Assembly, the Senate resolved to process the bills that have met the requirements of the provisions of Section 9 of the Constitution and passed in line with the Authentication Act.

The bills passed include Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 2 (Authorisation of Expenditure in absence of Appropriation); Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 4 (Financial Autonomy of State legislatures);

Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 8 (The Legislature); Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 9 (Political parties and Electoral Matters); Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 15 (The Nigeria Police Force); and Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 16 (Restriction of Tenure of President and Governor);

Others are Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 20 (Submission from the Judiciary); Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 21 (Determination of Pre-Election Matters); Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 22 (Consequential Amendment on Civil Defence);

Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 24 (Procedure for Overriding Presidential Veto in Constitutional Alteration); Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 27 (Reduction of Age for Election); and Constitution (Fourth Alteration) Bill No 28 (Time Line for the Presentation of Appropriation Bill);

This follows the motion moved by Deputy Senate President, Senator Ike Ekweremadu (Enugu West) which was co-sponsored by 49 senators.

Recall that Thirty-three (33) Bills seeking to alter various provisions of the Constitution were presented at the floor of the Senate and the House of Representatives on Wednesday, July 26, and Thursday, July 27, 2017 respectively.

While the Senate approved Twenty-nine (29) of the Bills with the required 2/3 majority of members, the House of Representatives approved (Twenty-one (21) of the Bills with not less than 2/3 majority.

The two Houses approved seventeen (17) of the bills without difference and were transmitted to the State Houses of Assembly for their resolution; while 4 (Four) were approved with amendment and have been committed to a Conference Committee for further action in line with the Senate and House of Representatives Rules.

The Senate acknowledged that thirty-five State Houses of Assembly – Abia, Adamawa, Akwa-Ibom, Anambra, Bayelsa, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross-River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe and Zamfara have forwarded their resolution on most of the Bills.

About the author

Ihesiulo Grace

Leave a Comment