Entertainment News

President Jonathan to separate Nollywood from Ministry of Information

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has promised to separate the Nigerian movie industry, Nollywood from the Ministry of Information if voted for in the coming general election.

The President said this during the question and answer session at the Showbiz Interactive forum held with the movie practitioners on Sunday, March 15, 2015 at the Convention Center of Eko Hotel, V.I, Lagos.

The session which brought together Nollywood, the music and movie industry, saw PDP chieftains such as Jimi Agbaje, Gov. Akpabio, Obanikoro and others grace the occasion to show support for the President.
During the interactive session, it was proposed by Nollywood practitioners that Nollywood be separated from the Ministry of Information and transferred to the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

The proposition was welcomed by President Jonathan who then promised to work hand-in-hand with the movie industry, in making sure that the sector develops more and meets international standard.
He also revealed that Nollywood provides 1.5% of the national income therefore, sees it as an industry to be reckoned with.

It is my pleasure to be associated with Nollywood and I’m proud to say that without even the help of the government, the movie industry has been able to contribute 1.5% of the total national income. Our actors and actresses are well known all over the world. That’s why this administration will do all it can to make sure the sector develops even to international standard, ” he said.

Entertainers present at the session include the likes of Mamuze Twins, Aneke Twins, Mike Ezerunoye, Ngozi Ezeonu, Rachael Oniga, Bob Manuel, Kenneth Okonkwo, Fred Amata, Grace Amah, Doris Simeon, Liz Benson, Ebube Nwagbo, Alex Osifo, Chief Zebudiah, Patience Ozokwo, ,Monalisa Chinda, Toyin Aimakhu and her husband, Johnson, Yule Edochie, Sammy Okposo, Niccky Laoye, D’banj , Gordons, Funny Bones, Damola And Shakul, King Sunny Ade, D’banj, Kcee, Raskimono, Oritz Wiliki, Righteous Man, Sir Victor Uwaifo, Sammy Okposo, Mr Songz, Timi Dakolo, Ruben Studdard, Oritsefemi, Duncan Mighty, and others.

About the author

Ihesiulo Grace

Leave a Comment