Headlines News

Excitement as Daily Times unveils 2017 Award winners


Though the excitement of participative deliberation was pervasive among the editors, having to take a hard decision on distinguished Nigerians who have excelled in their different walks of life, it was a tough decision for the management and editors of The Daily Times.

The board of editors of The Daily Times including the Chairman/ Publisher, Mr. Fidelis Anosike and the Group Managing Director, Mr. Noel Anosike, had to contend with the realisation that the nominees for the 2017 Daily Times Award were quite astounding in their achievements and contributions to the greatness of the country and uplift of the mankind.

It was a long night and memorable occasion. The event of Thursday, December 28, 2017, would continue to linger on among the participants of the decision to choose the award winners.

And when the issue of who would emerge as the winners among the nominees commenced, it was an anti-climax as the deliberation was frank, engaging and down to earth.

In the end, the winners emerged through painstaking nomination and voting.

The Daily Times, Nigeria’s heritage newspaper, therefore announced the 2017 Winners of its Prestigious Award as follows:

  • Man of the Year – Dr. Ibe Kachikwu

  • Woman of the Year – Mrs. Aisha Buhari

  • Politician of the Year – Governor Willie Obiano

  • Governor of the Year- Governor Nyesom Wike

  • Good Governance Award – Governors Ibikunle Amosun and Aminu Tambuwal

  • Lifetime Achievement Award- Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Chief Ugochukwu Onyeama, former Governor Segun Osoba, Mr. Sam Amuka- Pemu, Chief Henry Odukomaiya, and Prince Tony Momoh.

Life Impact Award- Chief Olu Jacobs and Leo Stan Ekeh

About the author

Ihesiulo Grace

Leave a Comment