Edo Primaries : INEC urges parties to abide by rules


…fixes February 14 for supplementary polls in Taraba, Enugu

By Tunde Opalana

As party primaries for the 21st of September 2024 Governorship election in Edo state get underway, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has called on all political parties to adhere to the Timeline and Schedule of Activities for their primaries in selecting candidates that will represent them at the polls.

The call was made by the National Commissioner and Chairman of Information and Voter Education Committee (IVEC), Mr. Sam Olumekun mni, in a statement.

The statement disclosed that sixteen (16) political parties had notified the Commission of their interest in the election as well as their preferred modes and dates of primaries.

The Commission, therefore, stated that “Parties are urged to avoid unnecessary postponements, arbitrary change of venues, wholesale change of delegates list or the submission of names that did not emerge from valid primaries as candidates for the election”.

“Political parties should avoid rancor primaries that lead to the breakdown of law and order often as a result of non-adherence to the provision of their constitutions and guidelines. These are some of the issues that lead to a large number of pre-election litigations”.

The Commission further reminded the political parties that “Edo State is the Constituency for the election, therefore; primaries must take place within the State in line with Sections 84(4) and 5(b) of the Electoral Act 2022”.

It would be recalled that the Commission released the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the 2024 Edo and Ondo States Governorship Election on the 26th September 2023 stipulating that party primaries should be held between 1st – 24th February 2024 for the Edo governorship election.

Meanwhile, the Commission has re-scheduled the outstanding supplementary elections in some polling units in Taraba and Enugu states arising from inconclusion of the 3rd February 2024 Bye and Rerun Elections.

The outstanding supplementary election will now hold on 14th February 2024.

National Commissioner and Chairman of Information and Voter Education Committee (IVEC), Sam Olumekun mni, also disclosed this.

The statement reads: “Further to our earlier statement in which Wednesday, 14th February 2024 was fixed for supplementary elections in the Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency of Taraba State, the Commission hereby announces the full details of the Polling Units involved in the election and the three Local Government Areas making up the Constituency.”

“As declared by the Returning Officer, there are fifteen (15) Polling Units in Jalingo, seven (7) in Yorro and two (2) in Zing where supplementary elections will be held, making a total of 24 Polling Units for the Constituency.”

READ ALSO: Access Bank CEO, Herbert Wigwe, dies in helicopter..

“The full list and delimitation details of the Polling Units, including the Number of Registered voters and Permanent Voters’ Cards (PVCs) collected have been uploaded to the Commission’s website and social media platforms.

In the case of Enugu South I State Constituency where election will also hold on Wednesday, 14th February 2024, the names and delimitation details of the eight (8) Polling Units remain unchanged.”

The statement urged all political parties and candidates to encourage their supporters and agents to maintain peace during the polls.

About the author


Leave a Comment