Amokachi Drops Emenike, Enyeama Set for Nigeria Centenary

Ahead of the Super Eagles’ twin friendly matches against Bolivia and South Africa on March 26 and 29, Daniel Amokachi has picked 27 players for the clash.

West Bromwich and Cologne strikers Brown Ideye and Anthony Ujah have been recalled to the Nigeria side that would take on Bolivia and South Africa in friendly matches later this month.

While Emmanuel Emenike has been dropped from the squad selected by acting coach Daniel Amokachi, goalkeeper and captain Vincent Enyeama is expected to earn his century during the pair of matches.

Long standing striker Emenike was dropped for his poor form with the Eagles having not scored since October 2013.

Instead, in-form trio Ideye, Ujah and Odion Ighalo of Watford have been recalled while Ahmed Musa also returns after the disappointing campaign to qualify for the Afcon.

Strangely, Stoke City’s Victor Moses was listed on “standby” having not played for the Super Eagles since the end of the World Cup.

With injury to Chelsea’s John Obi Mikel, the midfield charge would be led by Ogenyi Onazi, Hope Akpan and Sone Aluko with Babatunde Michael and John Ogu making a return.

Amokachi also invited Steven Ukoh, and home-based duo of Joseph Nathaniel and Kingsley Sokari.

Defence henchmen Godfrey Oboabona and Kenneth Omeruo are joined by Azubuike Egwuekwe, Leon Balogun, Akeem Latifu, Chima Akas and Nelson Ogbonnaya.

Following years of being ignored, Kano Pillars goalkeeper Theophilus Afelokhai makes the team alongside Chidiebere Eze who have both come in for Austin Ejide and Chigozie Agbim as back up for Enyeama.

In all, Amokachi’s list includes 17 players based abroad and 10 from the Nigeria Professional Football League.

For five of the players on the list, it is their maiden call up for the senior national team.

The Super Eagles will take on Bolivia on March 26 at the Akwa Ibom Stadium in Uyo before traveling to Mbombela to take on South Africa on the 29th.


Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France); Theophilus Afelokhai (Kano Pillars); Chidiebere Eze (Ifeanyi Ubah United)

Defenders: Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Nelson Ogbonnaya (Heartland FC); Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough FC, England); Akeem Latifu (Aalesunds FC, Norway); Leon Balogun (Darmstadt 98, Germany)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Steven Ukoh (Biel-Bienne FC, Switzerland); Omatsone Aluko (Hull City, England); Hope Akpan (Reading FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Babatunde Michael (Volyn Lutsk, Ukraine); Joseph Nathaniel (Sharks FC); Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Aaron Samuel (Guangzhou R&F, China); Brown Ideye (West Brom, England); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Anthony Ujah (FC Cologne, Germany); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Ubong Moses (Kano Pillars); Stanley Dimgba (Warri Wolves); Mfon Udoh (Enyimba FC); Standby – Victor Moses (Stoke City, England)

About the author

Ihesiulo Grace

Leave a Comment