AFCON Qualifiers: Rohr invites Captain Musa, 23 others for Squirrels, Crocodiles


Super Eagles Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr, has invited 24 players in preparation for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying battles with the Benin Republic and Lesotho scheduled for March 27 and March 30 respectively.

A statement issued by Ademola Olajire, Director of Media and Communications, Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), said the Super Eagles who are top of Group E log with eight points would be hosted by the Squirrels of Benin Republic on March 27, in Porto Novo.

Olajire stated that the team would then return to the country on March 30, to face the Crocodiles of Lesotho, at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos, for the concluding match of the qualifying series.

The list of players invited for the double-header included captain Ahmed Musa, deputy captain William Ekong, goalkeeper Francis Uzoho, midfielder Wilfred Ndidi and forward Victor Osimhen.

Also invited are Enyimba FC goalkeeper John Noble, defenders Leon Balogun, Kenneth Omeruo and Olaoluwa Aina, midfielders Oghenekaro Etebo and Joseph Ayodele-Aribo, and forwards Alex Iwobi, Moses Simon, and Samuel Chukwueze.
Abdullahi Shehu also made the list as a midfielder this time and a first senior call-up for Spain–based forward Sadiq Umar.

Seven players, including long-time goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, are on standby.
The Super Eagles could earn a ticket to the finals in Cameroon before kick-off in Porto Novo, should Lesotho and Sierra Leone end their encounter in Maseru in a stalemate.

The result of the match would be known before the kick-off of the encounter between Super Eagles and the Squirrels of Benin Republic, in Porto Novo.
It will be recalled that Rohr had steered Nigeria to qualify for two major tournaments: the 2018 FIFA World Cup and the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, The Netherlands)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosa, Cyprus); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Unattached); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Sadiq Umar (Almeria FC, Spain); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (FC Girondins Bordeaux, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France)

Standby: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Peter Olayinka (Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Michael Olise (Reading FC, England); Adekunle Adeleke (Abia Warriors).

About the author

Ihesiulo Grace

Leave a Comment