Adamawa govt school alumni urge improvement


By Tom Garba

The Old Students Association of Government Science Secondary School (GSSS), Hong, class of ’86, has urged Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri to restore the school to its former status.

The old students made this plea in a communiqué issued at the end of their 2023 Annual General Meeting held on December 30, 2023, at the school.

The association, in the communiqué, commended Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri for the reconstruction and renovation of classrooms and other physical structures in the school.

The communiqué further thanked Governor Ahmadu for appointing Dr. Umaru Garba Pella, a native of the Hong community, as the Commissioner of Education, describing it as placing “a round peg in a round hole.”

The communiqué stated: “There is no better time than now to revert the college to its former status of Government Science Secondary School Hong so that the renovated and re-equipped science laboratories can be maintained and put to optimal use.”

It was noted that the school has produced more professionals in fields such as Medicine, Pharmacy, Veterinary Medicine, and other sciences than in other disciplines.

The association, therefore, urged Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri to restore the college to its former status as the Government Science Secondary School Hong.

They called on all members of the General HOSA in Nigeria and the diaspora to continue supporting the college so that posterity will remember their contributions.

New officials of GSSS HOSA were elected to manage the Association for the next four years. The president-elect, Engr. Linus A. Agwandas, in his acceptance speech, thanked Prof. Garba Isa, the Chairman of the Board of Trustees, for his outstanding leadership. He also appreciated AIG Aishatu Abubakar Baju for presiding over the Association for the last four years despite her busy schedule, as well as the entire Board of Trustees for their efforts to ensure the smooth running of the

He also thanked all members for electing him as the next president and assured them of prioritizing the implementation of the report from the Cooperative Society Committee, enabling less privileged members to obtain soft loans for their immediate needs.

READ ALSO: Israel/ Hamas war triggers change in pilgrims visit

Other elected executive members include: Engr. Tanko Ibrahim Basani – Vice President 1, Haj. Bilkisu Abdullahi – Vice President 2, Mal. Ibrahim Abdu – Secretary, Mr. Abel Ezekiel – Assistant Secretary, Mr. Peter Robert Ahijo – Financial Secretary, Wange Zira Dia (Mrs) – Treasurer, Danjuma Saki – Director of Socials/Cultural, and Moses Maman – Public Relations Officer.

The members unanimously appointed Justice Nathan Musa (rtd), the immediate past Chief Justice of Adamawa, and Wakili Alkalai as the Association’s grand patron, and Mrs. Martha Sambo Midala as patron. The Association resolved that the new tenure for trustees should be for life, that the election of the Board of Trustees (BoT) Chairman and BoT Secretary should be held at a later date by the members of the trustees, and that a constitution review committee should be set up before the tenure of the Executive Committee (EXCO) can be amended.

About the author


Leave a Comment